The answer is "No"...

I found myself wondering today why Bethany has so easily picked up the word "No", but is yet to say "Yes" with any clarity. I came to the obvious conclusion that she just hears it an awful lot more than Yes. This situation, and I'm sure many parents find the same thing, has arisen merely from want of protection to try and help her avoid harm.

"No, that's daddy's hot tea!"
"No, Don't stand of top of that, you'll fall."

Then I was thinking there isn't many occasions that you can really communicate the word Yes to an infant. Well not as many occasions as No anyway. My solution to this is just to respond to every "Daddy", which she has beautifully mastered, with a very hearty and clear "Yes?" With a vocabulary of approximately 5 words for a rather gabby 15 month old, this occasion crops up quite a lot.

I got the idea from Ryan, who when you said his name, replied in a very similar and inquizative, "Yes?"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.