Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Muse Tickets

What a day!

It started peacefully enough - lie in, cup of tea, pancake breakfast, a little TV, a few loads of washing, some viola practice, and a light lunch of scampi & croquettes! Then we got changed into our glad rags and headed off to Wembley for one of the most FANTASTIC gigs ever!

On arrival we walked round the outside a bit to admire the place - it's really rather impressive, and to watch the crowds streaming along Olympic Way towards the stadium. We bought a t-shirt each, and I got a bath towel (yes, I KNOW) before heading in to grab a snack and watch the show!

We had standing/unreserved seats tickets (unlike our previous gig at Wembley, where we saw Oasis from up in the top section), and in the end did a bit of both. We watched I Am Arrows from the comfort of seats, stood for White Lies (a fave of the Wonderspouses) sat again for Biffy Clyro (a rather excellent band, who seem to be characterised by a lack of shirts), and then stood, being promenaders hardened fans for most of Muse's set, and gradually moving towards the front!

At one point I was befriended by some very friendly girls, who, it turns out were lesbians who were chatting me up! Rather flattering to be chatted up I thought! However, once the Wonderspouse joined the conversation they departed, stressing that I should seek them out if I changed my mind!

It was a fabulous evening! At one point there I was, right in the middle of Wembley Stadium, which was packed (with something like 85,000 people apparently), feeling like a very tiny walnut* indeed! The show was spectacular, the music fabulous, and the flying saucer (from which emerged an acrobat) was utterly fantastic! As I type this (at just after 2am) the setlist for tonight isn't yet up on the interwebs, but last night's was pretty similar from what I can remember (I'm not exceptionally good at remembering setlists I'm afraid)!

There were dozens of blips I could have taken while I was there, but, being a rather careful person, and not wanting to get anything broken, I decided that such an occasion was not one for either the camera or the iPhone. I like to be relaxed enough at these things to know that if I do get shoved into or covered in beer etc. then I won't be stressed about it. Consequently, the blip is just of the tickets before we left!

It was, however, a brilliant brilliant evening, and one that I'll remember for a long time!


*I always think of walnuts in Wembley Stadium. When I was a little girl and my Dad started to teach me about atoms etc. he described the amount of empty space in an atom by saying the atomic nucleus was like a walnut in Wembley Stadium, where Wembley Stadium was the volume of the whole atom. He'd read it in some "book of interesting facts" or other. Of course, it referred to the old Wembley Stadium, which I never went to, but I still think of walnuts anyway!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.