Note the damage

But it's only ceramic tiles that fell down during the earthquake.

I saw photos taken when this building was first entered and it looked a bit of a mess. In part that's my (and others) response to a huge event and part of the processing your mind has to do.

But really it is only cosmetic and once cleaned up and checked by engineers, life continues as normal.

An excellent coffee I had too ;-)

A quick back blip on Saturday morning. The upstairs floor at home isn't dry but my insurance company has agreed the part damaged by the pre-quake shower leak needs replacing. I'm enormously grateful they decided this on the phone yesterday and the machines could be pulled.

I started to clean upstairs and did a couple of local errands. Things often take longer once you discover where you want to go is off-limits due to earthquake damage. In yesterday's case my bike man is working out of his garage at home, 100m from his shop (which may or may not be repairable).

Right, I'm off to take stuff home and clean, clean, clean (with Barking's help this afternoon). I'll sleep one more night with my friends, then it's pick the Fur Child up from the cattery at 9AM tomorrow, then home for good.

It's a plan :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.