St John's Hororata

I didn't intend an earthquake image today.

I went for a drive in the country with my friend the hunter. The road we intended traveling on turned out to be closed and to reach our destination of Terrace Downs, we had to go through Hororata.

St Johns is one of the badly damaged churches following the earthquake. It's probably the closest stone church to the epicentre. As you can see it is substantially damaged. I don't know if it is repairable or if it will have to be completely rebuilt. Either way it's a huge blow to the community. I have heard they're looking at a 3 -4 year period of restoration.

The hunter and I had a pleasant afternoon sipping coffee, wine and a light meal. The angle of the sun was difficult for mountain shots. Instead I just sat and soaked up the mountains, clouds, sun and space.

Dad is out of hospital. I've booked to visit them in about 10 days time, but it turns out they might have other plans. Hope they are robust enough but time will tell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.