Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Scratch my car! What again?

I'm feeling pretty `blue' today. When returning our already expensive hire-car to the firm this morning we discovered two deep scratches on the off-side passenger door. These had clearly been made by someone dragging keys across the paintwork. They were not there when we unloaded the car on Saturday afternoon. So the car we had rented to ensure that the two of us, plus my elderly parents and all of our luggage could travel in comfort has turned out to be a very expensive item. Thank goodness we'd paid the extra insurance as it could have cost £600 extra instead of the £100 we had to pay.

What makes it worse is that about four weeks ago someone created parallel scratches down the length of my car (photo). I'm beginning to wonder if we are being deliberately targeted! Perhaps I'm feeling a little paranoid and maybe it's just one of those annoying coincindences - after all we live in a very quiet South Yorkshire Pennine village and I simply can't imagine my neighbours doing such a thing.

I needed to take myself up to the allottment and do some physical work to try and get rid of all the bad emotion I was feeling. I've dug two short rows of our late potatoes which my neighbour was happy to share. I also brought back one rather immature and well chewed cabbage which the rabbit was very happy to share. I'm not sure what happened to my elaborate construction that was meant to keep the caterpillars out but I certainly failed. I must try harder next year!!

Typing this is helping me to prevaricate a little further and to delay filling in my expenses forms which I need to take into work tomorrow, though I think I really need those expenses to pay the bills.

Having chosen a `utility' photo today I think I might just waste a bit more time choosing another photo to go into my blipfolio

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.