Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Theorbo Tuning

What a day! In the morning I felt slightly better than I had yesterday and we set off to London for an entirely different sort of gig, which was to be preceded by some leisurely shopping. However, torrential rain scuppered any plans for leisure. The sky was dark very early, and we went from doorway to doorway, getting soaked and sitting drinking coffee/eating food wherever possible in order to stay out of the rain.

I was also struggling. My legs almost giving way beneath me, both shoulders aching and tense, and that constant feeling that I was going to burst into tears or pass out or be sick, that is so familiar. The time the tube spent between Green Park and Victoria seemed to go on for an eternity and I was desperate to escape - it took every ounce of my CBT training and willpower to keep going and to get to Cadogan Hall ready for the concert we had booked to attend, and even though it was hard work, I'm jolly glad we went.

The concert, by the Academy of Ancient Music, directed from the harpsichord by Richard Egarr, comprised all 6 of Bach's Brandenburg Concertos (in the order 1, 6, 2, 5, 3, 4 if you're interested). It was a fabulous evening - and very interesting to be back in Cadogan Hall for the same pieces that I heard there on 14th August.

Here is the Theorbo player tuning his instrument at the (freshly tuned) harpsichord. I love to see these early instruments, and am always particularly excited in Brandenburg 6 to see the viola and viola da gamba line up at the top of the texture. It should be obvious from my internet name that I'm a viola player, but I also played the viola da gamba in college - I once played continuo in a performance of the Monteverdi Vespers and also for a friend's recorder exam, as well as doing lots of consort playing. One day, when I have sufficient funds, I shall buy an instrument (I had to give the college on back when I left) and play again.

Anyway, Bach did his magic yesterday evening and the frazzled person who arrived at Cadogan Hall became much calmer during the performance. In the car on the way home the Wonderspouse yet again proved to be the perfect shrink, and we sorted out a plan of action to get me back on course again.

In the meantime: deep breaths, keep calm, and, if in doubt, think of Brandenburg Concertos!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.