Man in a cafe with a toy horse after an earthquake

I didn't sleep well last night. A little rattler came through around 11.30 that set me on edge. I think I sleep with one eye open after them - all the better to wake properly with the next rattler some time after 1AM.

;-(

I restored myself with a few hours in the garden catching up with the lawns, trimming, tidying and preparing my vege bed. It took longer than I thought as several neighbours came by and wanted to chat. But that's one of the good things about my neighbourhood, people do stop to chat.

I arranged to meet S for coffee this afternoon. I was a little early so wandered nearby to post some mail. As I was about to step from the footpath to the foyer where the post box is, the signs, poles, lampposts, lights etc started rattling and shaking. "Oh, oh, earthquake, I'm not stepping in there".

The outside option wasn't terrific. Across the road the building was cordoned off because the facade is unstable. Nothing fell off but it was surreal to be in a city street in a sharp jolt. Probably preferable to home. S was in her parked car and thought I'd sneaked up and given her car a shove!

A couple minutes later I was in the cafe. I think this shot captures the surreal feeling and slightly unstable feeling you sometimes have after a quake.

Yesterday's blip is slightly quirky too if you fancy a look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.