Ticking Away the Moments

By wiiaholic

Swanning around

Spent the afternoon at Newport Wetlands with friends - it was highly recommended by a fellow blipper (The Life of Pontycyclops).

We really enjoyed it and will definitely be going again. One of the birds we saw was a kingfisher - first one I've ever seen. We would have missed it but a couple of expert birdwatchers (judging by all the kit!) told us where he was.

No chance of a photo, not with my little camera or iphone - the distance would need a serious zoom lens. But I had a look at it through the expert bird lady's Swarovski telescope - fantastic to see it and what a stunning colour it was!

I did manage to take this photo of a swan - I like the reflection in the water and the backdrop of the power station. The swan was obviously a pro, kept turning round in the water to make sure we could all get plenty of photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.