Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

New Rug

For some time now we've had a bit of a rug problem in the sitting room. Smudge has developed a habit of depositing furballs onto the woven-style rug that we've had there for many years (and which I originally had in my flat when I was a student - it came from a "bargain" shop in Brixton).

The trouble is, that rug isn't really successfully cleanable. It can go through the wash, but in the past I've washed it about once every six months. Now it's being washed more frequently it's in serious danger of disintegrating completely.

So, I decided it was time to get a new rug - one that would be easily cleanable, but would also be cheap enough that we didn't get stressed when Tiggy inevitably uses it for claw sharpening purposes!

So here it is! It's a "Mega Play Mat"! It was cheap, is utterly cleanable, relieves the boredom of the beige carpet with brown dots on that our landlord selected for durability rather than beauty and is not really to our taste, and introduces an element of fun to our sitting room!

I showed it to the Wonderspouse when he got home from work and he thought it was fabulous. We're now seeing who can hold out longer before heading loftwards to dig out the matchbox cars!

In other news, I managed to go to an appointment this morning and fill in yet more questionnaires about health and mood. I did have a wobble in Sainsbury's, so had to stop the shopping half way through and finish off later at the Co-op! Today's jobs list is also looking rather unfinished - I'll just have to roll it over to tomorrow!


Many thanks for all the lovely comments many of you keep leaving for me. I'm reading them all and still looking at blips, although my own commenting activity is rather reduced at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.