Barking

By Barking

Artichokes and fairies

On Wednesday night I stayed at school late for Prizegiving. At around 8.45 pm, whilst walking back to my car, I spotted a wee gate in a hedge right next to school. I'd never noticed it before. The last of the sun was making the little flies iridescent as they flitted about. It looked like the entrance to a secret garden or a fairy glen. I'd already blipped that day and also hadn't taken my camera (horror!) with me so I stored it away for future reference.

Today, I decided to blip it. I was standing there, surreptitiously photographing the gate when it opened and Mo walked through. She's one of my colleagues.

The house belongs to J, another colleague, who has lived there for 13 years. It's sandwiched between the Baptist Church and our school and is on an acre section. Once I went through the gate, it was like a wonderland - I had no idea it existed. J kindly gave me 4 artichokes and a lesson on how to cook and eat them, with a promise of more if I like them. I also had a lovely chat with her. She's a very interesting and intelligent person.

Blip has opened up so many opportunities already for me, just by opening my eyes. I can't wait to see what else is waiting around the corner.

Happy weekend!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Portrait
500

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.