Finally, here comes the snow

The snow hit London overnight and, this time, the transport worked from zone 3 into central London (where there was no snow lying on the ground). However, because Croydon was badly hit, the buses on longer routes were full, so my bus drove past the stop without a glance. Luckily, the train came to the rescue.

The afternoon was spent listening to the drone of police helicopters and the shrieks of sirens as the police monitored the students protesting against the government cuts. The Strand, on which my work building stands, was closed to traffic and there were pockets of students all over central London. They had employed anti-kettling tactics and had split into small groups - whenever they spotted a police line, they went in another direction, and so avoided being herded into one spot. I don't think there was any trouble, apart from some bad eggs spraying graffiti on Nelson's Column last night.

I was relieved to make my way home - a constant helicopter noise rattling the windows and the brain is exhausting. I work on the 8th floor so I was nearer the helicopter than I would liked to have been.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.