The second half of life..

By twigs

Gerbera

I planted 4 gerberas in a small planter last year. They flowered well and brightened up the back deck for a good wee while but then, as winter came, they collapsed and receded into the soil never to be seen again - or so I thought!

Earlier this spring I noticed that there seemed to be evidence of some rejuvenation in the gerbera planter. We'd had plenty of rain over the winter which had obviously helped but I'd thought the harder frosts we'd had over winter might have killed them off completely. Not so, it appears.

I've continued to tend to them - the current drought status means that I have to water them regularly - and the're now beginning to pay dividends with the first of what I hope will be a good few flowers.

The dark background in this shot was achieved by shooting the flower in bbright sunshine against a deep shadow in the background. A little tweaking in PS et voila - my first gerbera of the season!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.