Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

White Charger

You know the fairy stories, the ones where a damsel in distress is rescued by a knight on a white charger? Well, now you can see an example of a white charger before your very eyes!

The knight was my friend @pbiggs, who drove over to our house this morning (we'd had a real sense of anticipation ever since we woke up) in this very fine example of a motor vehicle. He drove us to the place where my little car was buried up to its ears in snow (see the blip for 18th December to find out how it got there if you don't know the story), but safe, unpranged, and obliging enough to start up beautifully, first go (hurrah little car, we love you)!

The Wonderspouse dug, Pete and I cleared snow, and then Pete backed the Land Rover up to the front of my car to create tracks for me to drive out of. With some pushing, rocking backwards and forwards, we were eventually free, and Pete followed us as we drove carefully home.

Then, the white charger was even MORE wonderful to us (if that's possible - I really do LOVE my car you know). Pete drove us into town, which was in gridlock, extremely hard going for walking through deep slushy snow and lethal pavements, and we were finally able to get supplies. I went to the vet to get Dexter's medication, then to the doctor to get my medication, then topped up the iPhone because if I hadn't I'd have lost connection. The Wonderspouse went to the butcher and collected our Christmas goose, then we met in Sainsbury's and did the rest of the shopping. Pete then drove us home and helped to unload the stuff.

WHAT A STAR!!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH PETE!

So now we are pretty much stranded back in the village again, but the car is home, which is a huge relief, we have food for Christmas and medication needed and communication ability. We still have oil in the heating tank, but are no longer putting the central heating up because it is finite and once it's run out I doubt we'll be able to get more.

But the relief is huge. I'm also really relieved the Wonderspouse will not plan to walk into town tomorrow - he's strong, but he's exhausted. His legs have still not recovered from the last walk, and his energy levels are dropping. He is supposed to go into work tomorrow and Friday, but if they cut up rough about it *I* shall phone in and tell them he isn't well enough - he's on the brink of exhaustion.

There were spectacular sights in town, piles of snow higher than me etc. but I wasn't stopping to take pictures because we had so many jobs that we needed to do that were more important than photography. I did observe that a new Indian restaurant had opened while we've been stuck out here (look forward to trying that in the New Year) and I did see some spectacular icicles and took a picture of these ones which were perhaps the most beautiful. There were bigger ones, and even more spectacular, but by that time I had my hands full of shopping bags and it had started to snow again, making the pavements treacherous, so I was concentrating hard on not falling over!

Needless to say, after we got home and had a bit of lunch, we both fell fast asleep on the sofas.

Phew!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.