The Blackcountry Man

By brickmaker

The Shepherds Arrive....

Mrs BM and myself were settling down with "A Wonderful Life" on the box, when in the distance we heard a far off Bleating, "Oh My said Mrs BM you haven't invited The Labour Party for Tea have you?", "No" I said, "My mate Ed said he was too busy today, I do hope it's not what I think it is", Looking out of the window.

In the distance I could see a herd of sheep coming this way being guided by three blokes of similar build and dress (I have only got the one smock you know). They were getting nearer and above them I could see a star guiding their way, I thought to my self, "Oh no, she will go mad, the stains never really came out of the carpet from last year".

Then the door bell rang, DING, DONG (do you like the sound effects?).
I said to Mrs BM, "it's Carol Singers, ignore them and they will go away", DING DONG (good aren't they).
Mrs BM got up and went to answer the door, "If any Shepherds and Sheep are at this door, you can look up".
"Oh dear", I said out loud, in fact too loud, SHE WHO MUST BE OBEYED gave me the evil eye and opened the door.
All at once the sheep were everywhere, running through the kitchen, upstairs and even in the downstairs Loo, (Yes we have a down stairs Loo, we're Posh). The Shepherds followed them, and I must say they did look familiar somehow. Mrs BM went ballistic; you know face all red and steam coming from her ears.
We guided them through the house and on to the Stable (I know, it?s the Summer House).
"Well" I said, "what do you want?"
"We have come to see the baby", they said in unison.
"It's not arrived as of yet" said I, "How did you get to know about it?"
"We saw a Star in the sky and angels came down and told us that there was a little baby, whose name will be Jesus, and we are to come to the Stable and pay our respects?.
?Well, you're too soon; you will have to go and come back at a later date, and don't bring these Sheep next time"

Mind you, the Sheep Sh????, Poo is really good for the garden, I could make a fortune selling the stuff, then I saw Mrs BM and thought better of it, "No" I said, "you will have to take them all with you and return later, perhaps in a few days".

At last, the rounded up the sheep and finally left us in peace. Poor Mrs BM is still getting the sheep Poo out of the carpets, it gets everywhere.

I looked in on Mary and Joseph all was peaceful and Joseph was making himself useful repairing the garden furniture (how else can I explain it in the Stable).

We went back to watching the TV, by this time Clarence had just saved George from an Icy death and was taking him through what would have happened if he had never lived.

Lets hope tomorrow will be a more relaxing day, but somehow I don?t think so, do you?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.