[Temporary] Impasse

I knew it would happen. Once I heard that the Mac App Store was launching yesterday I just had to check regularly during the day until the magic moment arrived, I downloaded the OS X update and visited the Store for the first time. And what was there on the front page, top of the list? That's right, Angry Birds.

I'd heard a lot about it, but, not yet being an owner of an iPhone or an iPod or an iPad, had never seen it in action. Because of unfamiliarity with touch gestures and so on which I'm sure are second nature to people who are iPhone or iPod or iPad owners, it took me a while to get the hang of zooming and scrolling and so on, so my first few play attempts (with my Christmas-present Magic Trackpad) were pretty pathetic, with a great many birds ending up flat on their faces rather than catapulted through the air to destory those nasty pigs. Once I got the hang of it, though, I surrendered to the addictive game play and played for hour and after hour after hour into the wee small hours.

Some of the levels ain't exactly easy, and I had to admit (temporary) defeat when I reached Theme 3, Level 5. Still stuck after a long break and a determined return, I blipped the screen at 4.30 pm today, which may have been a wise thing to do, because not long after that I did in fact succeed with this level and advance to the next - Yippee! and Hallelujah!! Mind you, my successful approach was a bit unorthodox, but effective nonetheless.

Naturally, Angry Birds wasn't the only purchase. No indeed. I also treated myself to a little Clipboard utility and a couple of Sudoko games (one free - and actually better than the one I paid for - so that doesn't count). I can see the Mac App Store being a dangerous thing to have access to. It's way too easy to spend money there, and I know all too well how often I already push the Buy button in the case of music downloads. So I'll need to exercise some discipline. I will, I will, I will. I promise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.