Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A few of my favourite things

I like it when other blippers share their favourite things or places, so today you see some of my prized possessions. These are handmade baskets from the north of Botswana near Maun. I bought them by the roadside in 1984 when I returned to Botswana on holiday. I had been there as a medical student in 1973 for a 3 month elective period, and loved the country, the people and the whole atmosphere.

The patterns for these baskets are never symmetrical. The asymmetry in the middle one is pretty obvious; sometimes it is very subtle and you have to look hard for it.

These baskets lie along one wall of my upstairs lounge, and are always on view. Sometimes one of the cats will curl up and sleep in one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.