Fresh is best

First priority after work was a quick trip to my local market garden. I need to supplement what I grow and my preference is locally grown, freshly picked organic veges.

But my little grower man tells me only me and one or two others buy his produce. He is surrounded by homes. Seems they all jump in their cars and head to the local supermarket down the road. He can't keep growing veges for so few.

His land is surrounded by homes but it's easier to go to the supermarket. I know which I prefer.

It makes me think of growing up. There were hardly any packets, mostly Mum created wholesome meals from scratch with veges she and Dad grew in the garden.

Oh, and these spring onions are the old fashioned type. They along with broccoli and bok choy picked freshly for me.

They tasted good :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.