A time for everything

By turnx3

Downy woodpecker

Monday
Roger was home today, as it is Martin Luther King Jr Day. We had a bit of a lie in then I decided to fix waffles for breakfast. However, I was having problems with the waffle maker - I thought it was that the top of the waffle was sticking, even though I'd never had problems with that before. After a couple of tries, Roger realized what was happening - apparently the heating part in the lid wasn't working, so the top part of the waffle wasn't cooking properly. Being the practical engineer that he is, he had to take it apart, and discovered there was a loose connection, or more precisely the connection had simply come apart. So he crimped it back together, and voila, it worked. Of course, then we were forced to make some more mix and have another waffle to test it! We then decided to go walking at Rowe Woods. Unfortunately, by this time we'd had the best part of the day, and the clouds had moved in. Also, the paths were rather icy, and whereas yesterday I had been able to find enough loose snow at the edges to walk in and get traction, we got to a part where that just wasn't the case, and I just felt as if I was always on the verge of slipping, so we gave up and headed back. I didn't get too many photos today, but I was able to get this shot of the downy woodpecker near the feeders at the back of the visitor center.

Best viewed in large.

One year ago: Mural

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.