What can I tell you?

What can I tell you to explain how excited I was to blip this hawk. Despite the cold morning (It was about 10-15 degrees Fahrenheit), I spent over two hours in the park. I reversed my route, hoping to spot some different birds, but I have almost come to the conclusion that I've already blipped most of the available winter species, many times over! The chickadees, titmice, nuthatches, woodpeckers, cardinals, etc. were willing to pose for photo opps, so I blipped some of them and posted them here. On the other hand, I know there are hawks, owls, at least one pileated woodpecker, and, I'm told, occasionally a bald eagle passing through. Unfortunately, I haven't been able to "capture" them.

But today, near the end of my walk, I spotted this hawk perched on a limb a short distance off the trail. I think it is a redtail hawk, but I'm not sure. I was only able to get two shots before it lifted off the limb and flew away. Although I wish it wasn't "hiding" behind those little twigs; I am pretty happy with the focus, especially the eyes.

Thanks, hawk! You made my day! I'll be watching for you from now on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.