Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

"Because I am a girl......"

I went to see the film Black Swan with a crowd of friends this afternoon. We had mixed feelings about it. Most people thought the ballet and some of the special effects were wonderful, e.g. where she sprouts swans' wings. I found the psychological drama gripping but over the top ++. Not a film I would rush to see again!

Afterwards I took my camera into the main shopping area of town. It was cold and damp. I found a group of fairly lively young people, all dressed identically, who were trying to persuade people to sign up to regular giving to this charity. I had not heard of it before and felt a bit suspicious of the method used. I could not help smiling at this young chap who was clearly quite cold and miserable - but I wondered if the logo he was wearing (and an even bigger one across the back of his jacket!!) might have contributed to his discomfort. Do they get paid for this work I wonder.

I've looked the charity up and it seems to be quite legit and worldwide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.