Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The hearing test

My Mum will hate this image. She is at the end of her hearing test which had to be done in order to have updated and improved hearing aids. We were in a tiny soundproof booth and she had to press the button (in her hand) whenever she heard a beep. This requires a lot of concentration.

I snatched this image (apologies for terrible quality) at the end of the test when the technician was on her way to release us from the "cell". It was the only photo I took today, so I'm afraid it's my Blip.

The staff in Audiology at the Freeman have always been delightful, whenever we have had to go there for tests or adjustments. Hearing aids are vital when you are deaf; it's a difficult handicap to cope with. We have various aids for Mum at home: loop system on the TV, special amplifiers on the phones, etc. All worth looking into if you or someone in your family is deaf. I'm so used to watching subtitles for dramas that I feel lost without them! (It will be me needing them in a few years time I expect!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.