Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Steel Rigg Circular

Another grey and damp day, but I went on a lovely walk with my friends J and D. It was the pre-walk for a walk I'm leading for the Haltwhistle Rings Walkers on Wednesday. We started at Steel Rigg, walked north or, but parallel to, Hadrian's Wall going east. This section is very dramatic when viewed from the north because you can see the majestic crags underneath the Wall.

Our lunch stop was in the bird hide on Greenlee Lough. Here is J taking the opportunity to do a sketch of the scene in front of her. In the same book was the sketch she did during our last walk in October.

Our route then took us around the lough, over the boardwalk, over Swallow Crags to Wealside and back to Steel Rigg. I made a mistake which added a loop on to the walk............so we decided not to come back over Winshields Crags in the chill north easterly wind of the late afternoon.

I know I have been walking now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.