Alloa Board

Flip-blip #3. Left hand original and right hand original. Previous efforts here.

This is the very successful recently re-opened railway line that connects Alloa to Stirling and onwards to the rest of the country. The road on the left heading east is know as the Ring Road locally though the council have tried renaming it recently (King's something-or-other?) and is home to some of the most confusing road markings I've ever seen. I pity any driver from outside the area coming along here expecting to reach their destination. The Police station and town hall are at the end of the dual carriageway here.

The right heads roughly west to the railway station which is as far as any passenger train goes in that direction. The line does connect out to Dunfermline and Rosyth and there's encouraging talk of opening that route up again sooner rather later. The ASDA superstore is there too and just a bit further to the right (but out of frame) is the hill on which the new college campus is being built.

Took this shot whilst I nervously waited to hear if the nearby garage was passing the MOT on my car. I'd left this a bit late but the chaps down here squeezed me in last thing today and passed the car no problem. I was worried that the tyres would at least be needing re-done as the Krooks down at Kwik Fit tried to have me buying a pair last April, saying they were on their last treads. They've managed another 8000 miles since then.

What they did ask was if I'd been involved in any off-roading recently as the underneath was caked in mud and had to be chipped away for them to carry out their tests. I had to explain to them all about our adventures last Bonfire Night....

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.