For a friend...

The Communards - one of my songs I listen to when I am sad. The piano playing in this is beautiful and even if you don't like the high note singing of Jimmy Somerville, I think the lyrics and the music should counter any negativity.

I've been thinking about people a lot in the last few days. Loved ones who have gone from my life, recently and in the past; friends who have passed through my life, pondering on where they are and what they are doing, whether they are happy with their live; friends who are very much present, even though some of them are far away, memories of times shared surfacing and bringing a smile, sometimes wry, to my face; people, so many of them, who touch my life directly, in the present, in the past and some, who I have not yet met, who will shape my future too.

For today though, in particular, one friend has been on my mind, as I am trying to create something for them. It won't be so much of a surprise I don't think, when the time comes, but there will still be the anticipation on my part of whether they like it or not, whether it has been received well or whether it will be stashed in the attic once I have left the building!!! For now, all that person gets is the knowledge that I am almost as covered in paint as the canvas is and they will have an idea of colour palette, but not a real reflection because photos just don't do the colour justice in the light of my office.

So for my friend, you know who you are, I hope that you will enjoy - not too long to wait. Know that it is being created with a bucketful of love for someone who I have not known so long, but who I have come to really value in my life.

xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.