Pumping

Around the corner from home is this pump-thingy. It's responsible for keeping the sewer moving (so to speak) and bypassing badly smashed section of the system.

For about a block the sewer flows above ground in a soft red pipe similar to a fire hose.

Things are so fragile the drainage guys were at the intersection of my street and one this pump is on at 10pm last night with their truck and gear. They shone their head lamps down a trap hole and did a lot of pumping.

This scenario is repeated all over town and in the scheme of things we're not too bad. It's an odd thing. My street looks normal and untouched but around the corner is this pump and a street with sink holes and broken bits.

We affectionately regard the pump as our hero. If needed we've now been issued with chemical loos. I wasn't home when they came so chased the truck down the street. That's a first, running after a chemical toilet ;-) It's a good way of meeting locals.

Not sure where I'll put it (my real loo - still working, is upstairs). I'll think of something. At this stage it's still a contingency.

My meeting re St Luke's in the City was painful. It will come down and while deconstruction is the kind word, demolition is reality. Maybe there can safely be some recovery of materials and contents. Another slice of Christchurch history will go. But history is full of change too and it can eventually bring good things.

Time to watch the Rolling Stones and gently stretch my neck, back and arm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.