A time for everything

By turnx3

Successful catch!

Thursday
I'm back! Having left a cold and wet Manchester Monday morning, we returned in the evening to a hot and steamy Cincinnati - the high had got up to around 90F - well above normal for the time of year, more like August temperatures! Oh for a happy median I thought, and that is what we had today - lower temperatures and less humidity. Unfortunately, by the time I got out walking at Sharon Woods about lunch time, the sun had been covered over by clouds. Initially things seemed very quiet on the wildlife front, apart from the inevitable squirrels and robins, and several turtles on partly submerged logs. After a while, however, I passed a guy walking the other way, who told me there was a great blue heron about fifty yards down the path. I thought knowing my luck he'd have flown off by the time I got there, but he was still there, slowly stalking his way through the water. I got a few shots before he did fly off, but only to the other side of the lake, and by the time I got round to the other side he was still there, but now with a fish in his mouth!
Best seen in large!

One year ago: Meadow flower against the sky

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.