Capital adventures

By marchmont

Murruga, and 272 steps

Slept the best I have for ages. Travel must be good for me.

WH had collected her 2nd sister W S from the airport, returning from a holiday in China.

After brunch at 'OldTown White Coffee' 9where there was no coffee because the machine was broken) we went to the Batu Caves, 13 kms north of central KL. There are 272 steps up to the entrance to the caves (my calves objected) which contain a number of Hindu temples. The complex is dedicated to Murruga or Lord Subramaniam, whose huge gold statue is at the enytrance. the caves are also home to a number of monkeys who run up and down the cave falls and steal anything they can gte their hands on.

Down to drink some coconut milk and then it was off to do some shopping at a mall. We found a blow up bed for G's dad when he comes and did some food shopping. Although the official language here is Bahasi Malaysia nearly everything is in English (and the plugs are UK style too). The supermarkets have an eclectic range of goods, all the familiar brands, including Waitrose Essential. My most spectacular find was French 'President' fresh whipping cream in litre cartons, a product you can't buy in France!

At night, a Chinese banquet with W H's paternal family, to, belatedly, celebrate Mother's Day on 8th May. Discovered, en route, that the 'wedding wedding' date is set for 30th June 2012. In addition to G and I her parents and 2 sisters, her grandmother, 2 uncles, 4 aunts and numerous cousins were there. the cake, unfortunately, said 'Happy Birthday' not 'Happy Mother's day' but W S is 27 on Thursday so we feted both her and her grandmother.

Then it was home to bed.

So far I have discovered that I have left behind the notebook I bought to be my holiday journal, my extra right contact lenses (I did this last year too) and the Samsung phone charger. So much for packing over a number of days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.