Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Blue Skies

This morning was back to the swimming pool. I've managed only to put on a couple of pounds during the whole holiday-birthday-cake-eating time, but it's now time to return to a life with a bit more exercise and a bit less cake!

Swimming this morning was really lovely. At the start there were only 2 of us in the pool, then the other person got out and I had it all to myself for the rest of the session. That might have had something to do with the black skies and the rain - although I actually really like swimming in the rain - since I'm wet already, what's to worry about? I was going to have just a short swim, but in the end it was so enjoyable I stayed until the end of the session and did 50 lengths. I could happily have stayed for an hour or so.

Then home to admin, washing, and so on as well as viola practice and maths notes. Lots and LOTS to do at the moment, which seems to be the story of my life. I suppose that's what happens since I'm interested in so many things.

I also went into town, to the bank, to Boots to get a couple of pictures printed on proper paper and to treat myself to a few bits and bobs such as a few bottles of new nail varnish (including a really lovely dark red) with a voucher that my friend Diffle had really kindly sent me for my birthday. Then I did the grocery shopping (taking this picture on the way), came home and had a spot of lunch (sardine paste on toast for those of you who are interested).

The afternoon has included some napping, some work, some laundry, some playing with my little rat-men, and some washing of some of their cage bits and pieces (in an attempt to prepare for the big cage clean tomorrow - they have so much stuff that it takes a while to wash it all, but it's great for them to have loads of sleeping places and things to play with - I wouldn't want to provide anything but the best I possibly can for them since they give me so much pleasure).

And now I await the Wonderspouse's call. He's out late tonight discussing literary stuff with a girl from Brighton who's around at the moment. When he calls I shall order Chinese takeaway which he'll collect on the way to meet me. The blue skies of earlier have gone again and we have black ones again!

But it's almost the weekend, and the first weekend we've had for AGES with absolutely no outside commitments. We will not attempt to go anywhere except maybe just town (the CLA Game Fair will probably be blocking all the roads to anywhere else anyway), and we have 2 glorious days with no alarms (and no surprises!!!!), pancake breakfasts, cats, rats, the telly, our sofas, and each other. I imagine the Wonderspouse will write a little, and I'll certainly have to do some maths (assignment due next week), but there will be no hurtling round the country or packing bags or any other such thing!

:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.