Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Cage Ready?

An odd day today.

The Wonderspouse wasn't at work today - he'd originally booked it as annual leave because we should have come back from Liverpool yesterday and should have been at the Prom with @MarDixon and her daughter this evening.

However, we've actually spent the day waiting for the results of my Mother-in-Law's tests at hospital. We've just heard that she does indeed have either lung cancer or Hodgkin's disease - more tests should confirm which by then end of the week, and she'll be starting chemotherapy as soon as they know exactly which type to give her.

After all the waiting, it's a sort of odd relief to know what's actually happening, and it's good to hear that the Wonderspousal parents are both being positive - MiL has even ordered herself a winter outfit from her favourite catalogue to show her determination.

Needless to say, I didn't go to the Prom. It's a shame, but I really felt I needed to be home. Father-in-Law thought it was lovely that I'd stayed to look after the Wonderspouse, so he could look after his Dad, and his Dad could look after his Mum!

Apart from that, I did, finally, manage to clean out the rat cage with what little energy remained. However, the poor little men spent longer in their travel box than usual, because I ended up sorting out Prom tickets in the middle of cleaning them. In the end, Scharwenka and Mrs Scharwenka have gone to the Prom, and Mrs Scharwenka kindly came to collect the tickets for everybody.

I'm now worn out by all the waiting and my head feels rather full of too many things. The Wonderspouse has decided he feels too unwell to go to work tomorrow (he looks pretty much wrung-out and I'm trying to persuade him to be gentle with himself), so we'll have a gentle day at home, and hopefully get some rest.

Sorry about the commenting situation. I couldn't even manage a fb status update today. It's a good job my own health is fine at the moment, because I'm now moving into supportive wife mode - this is, of course, part of what marriage is about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.