The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

House sparrows

The weather was drab today, but the little cock house sparrow is anything but. Here he perches in the rambling rose outside my workroom window, with one of the females of the colony behind. They've had a a good year, raising several broods in nests scattered between ours and our neighbours' roof spaces. The rose is a favoured place for them, where they are protected by the thorns, and on a south-facing wall that warms up if there is a touch of sun (though not a hint today). At one point I counted 14 of them in an area of 1 x 1 metre.

House sparrows have been declining rapidly across the country, and most notably in our towns and cities.

It was a day for doing those necessary but uninspiring jobs today. I finally had a big sort out in my workroom, while Wifie has been sorting her accounts.

Tonight we shall curl up on the sofa and watch the DVD of Black Swan.

ps I meant to mention the rugby. It's time for the Welsh genes to assert themselves. I missed Wales v Ireland early this morning. Alas, I didn't miss England being beaten by the old enemy - how predictable was that?

pps Black Swan - not quite the curl-up-on-the sofa sort of movie. I'll remember to read the reviews next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.