The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Why The Ponty Cyclops? - October Origins

I started to explain back on the first day of this challenge where my on-line nickname came from.

Well this was the inspiration, the true origin.

This is a Grogg, from the World Famous Grogg Shop in Pontypridd.

I actually thought I owned this Grogg, turned out it was my brothers! So thanks to him for lending it back to me for this entry.

I am the archetypical one eyed Ponty supporter! The ref is always wrong. He is always biased against us! Mono-optic doesn't being to describe it .. so Cycloptic did! The name then stuck! I have been The Ponty Cyclops online now for a very long time! If anyone one of you can remember it, I was born on the newsgroup rec.sports.rugby.union ... oh the days of Usenet, when we are all innocent!

Once upon a time, I used to run a website on stats from the (then) Welsh Premier League. A section of it was my Ponty fan site. I did it for the fun of it, nothing more. It kind of took off for a while. So much so, I registered the domain name pontycyclops.com.

With the demise of the Celtic Warriors and the WRU casting the valleys into the rugby abyss, my heart wasn't in it anymore, and quite sadly, I closed it down. Besides, the official Pontypridd RFC website is now done much better than I ever could here.

When I started working continental shifts, that curtailed my time to go to Ponty games, both home and away, but I have slowly started getting back into it. The heartbeat is still there. The same vibe is still there. Everyone hates coming there, but we still don't care! Long may me continue to be a fly in the WRU's ointment.

This is part of the October Origins Challenge I set this month. Occasional blips on how I, and other blippers came to be. The things that shaped us. You can read more about the challenge in this blip.

To see other blippers blips from this challenge, they are all in this search matrix.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.