Mellow Fruitfulness

Much better viewed mellow fruitfulness large

Wow what a totally glorious day! Cloudless sky, full autumnal sunshine at it's best! And it just shows you, never pick all your apples! ;-) Leave some! This red admiral butterfly gorged itself on this particular one today! I can't begin to describe how many shots I took of this same tipsy butterfly & it was very difficult to chose the best one!

Bit of blue sky behind

Head down, sip away!

It's wings sparkling in the sunshine

While Little Larry sunbathed himself

While this was going on, our lovely friend Matt who comes to help us with the garden performed is very first scythe - he had never done it before & we've been wanting to cut our wildflower meadow for some time & today was the day!

Hard work, but so immensly satisfying!

(I was chief photographer so I was working too.... ;)

After every row, it needs to be sharpened

So chuffed at the sight!

Ok, so it's a very late cut. We were going to do it mid October (again late) but the grasses were teaming with life from grasshoppers to ladybirds to spiders! After the cut, a small vole broke cover & ran across the cut grass to safety, so glad it was ok - if Matt had used a strimmer, then that poor vole would have been no more!!!

Ok, I'm very aware I'm overdoing Little Larry somewhat, but he's always there, ever present & I'm going to try & do *at least* a fortnight without blipping him, any photo I do take, I'll link here... but I so had to blip this tonight:

Larry Approach

Thanks for all the lovely comments from yesterday's Listening Larry :)

I hope everyone has had a great weekend xxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.