Tingalpa Creek

I took a friend out fishing on my boat this morning. It was pretty windy and bitingly cold (by Brisbane standards) so I stayed in the estuary of Tingalpa creek rather than getting cold, wet and miserable out on the open water of the bay.

The fishing was OK. Lots of school whiting which make excellent eating. I threw them all back because we have plenty of food at home already.

All in all it was a fun morning. With the westerly wind blowing the sky is very clear. I have been wanting to photograph these boats for a while now. It is amazing that they manage to get them in and out of the creek. At best the water is 1.5 metres deep between the beacons. Stray off course and they would run aground. Not that they ever seem to go anywhere. Mind you, this one and another I had a look at are equipped with pretty sophisticated radar so they must be used for something.

When I got home late this morning I had spot of lunch and decided to have a quick nap. That turned into a three hour sleep which surprised me a bit. I must have needed it. What else are weekends for anyway?

I also took my bike out for a ride this afternoon. I have always had trouble getting the thing to run well and have spend a small fortune doing various things to get it running well. So much so that I have spent more on it than the actual value of the bike. After three or four months of looking at it I decided to have another go at tuning it and I seem to be getting somewhere by retarding the fuel flow to the primary carby which works on a vacuum. So far so good. It seems to be working. I might even take it to work later in the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.