Journey Through Time

By Sue

It's a Boy's Life

First of all: THANK YOU! To use my favorite UK expression: I was GOBSMACKED with all of the wonderful comments I got yesterday and for putting my 365th on the spotlight page for a long, long time. Haven't had this much fun in ages, which I'm not sure if that's a good thing or a bad thing. Anyway....thank you, thank you, thank you, from my tippy toes to the top of my greying head. Thank you.

Today is our son's birthday. I am an only child and he is an only child. We share the anguish of being the One True Hope which means that you get all the attention, all the pressure, all the responsibility, all the hopes, dreams, expectations of parents and grandparents and aunties on you and you alone. There is no sibling to help ease the burden. Not what I planned to happen, as we wanted another child, but I was lucky to have had him, as it turned out.

He is holding up under the microscope that we put him under sometimes and he is a caring, sensitive man who is such a good person. He is funny and a bit on the quiet, shy side, but once he is your friend, he is a good friend.

I picked out his name when I was about 10 years old. I stuck with that name until the day he was born back in 1972 (and where, may I ask, did THAT time go?)when I finally was able to put it to good use.

His name is David which means Beloved Son.

PS The little cupcake is a token for today. We will celebrate on the weekend, and he can have a proper chocolate cake, his favorite. Just so's you don't think the poor man just gets a tiny little cupcake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.