Jaume Plensa at YSP

These are the last few days of the Jaume Plensa exhibition at the Yorkshire Sculpture Park, so it was good to meet up with Yorkshire Life and spend a very pleasant few hours walking around the grounds under a beautiful blue sky. I'd wanted to walk the path that circumnavigates the old walled garden (the underground gallery is now under this area) to take an image of the heads from above. The title of the sculpture is Irma & Nuria, 2010 and at dusk it is lit-up - though I'm not sure who gets to see it because the park closes quite early. The light wasn't easy and this was my best shot.

On my return, as I approached the underground gallery, a familiar figure was walking towards me. We could have had an informal Blipmeet complete with photo if Ann had bethought herself! It was good to see him and catch up on some news and also say hello to M.

Our final excursion was to the bank in Barnsley. The light on the Town Hall was brilliant as we walked back to the car and this was one of my best photos of the day. Someone stopped as I was taking the photo to say, `It does look very beautiful, doesn't it!'

Previous visits:

6th November

22nd April

27th March

I've just found this additional information in the Exhibition guide:
Words are visible in the women's faces -Irma and Nuria. There is a 'conversation' between the two women, eyes closed, as in an internal dialogue.
Irma, the elderly, is from the Dominican Republic. She works as a maid in
Barcelona. Nuria, the young woman, is the daughter of the family who runs Barcelona's best Chinese restaurant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.