Journey Through Time

By Sue

Botanical Garden Again

It's so easy to go the few miles to the little gardens and set up the camera. There are two spots that favor nice bird photos and the first one was very active with all the usual customers to the feeders flitting about. I did get a few nice shots and then went to the other area to see what might show up. This feeding area attracts the attention of bigger birds, for some reason. The red-winged blackbirds were there, but not giving me any opportunities for a good shot and I'd already blipped them anyway. Then this lovely female Evening Grosbeak came in and I got this image of her before she flew back to the trees. Both the Evening Grosbeak and the Black-headed Grosbeak will nest near our yard this spring and they will "flock" (excuse the pun) to our water fountains. I am anxiously awaiting their return to our back yard. The are big and showy and have a pretty song. Grosbeaks are large finch type birds with a nice big beak to crunch those seeds.

That done, I went to the store. Seems like I am always doing that...the drawback in living only 2 miles away from major grocery stores. I don't need to stock up for long periods of time and can take advantage of weekly specials, etc. But, I kind of get tired of going there as often as it seems like I do.

Although pine siskins belong to the same genus* as goldfinches, these guys are very plain, showing very little yellow mixed in with their beige and brown coloration. They love thistle as well as seeds and these guys are fun to watch as they fight and squabble over their turn to grab some seeds.

*I would like you to think me some brilliant ornithologist, but actually...bird book to the rescue again.

Have a good day Blippers!! See ya...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.