Capital adventures

By marchmont

The Hotel formerly known as .....

Well it's been The Balmoral for a few years now, but some of us still think of it as the NB, the railway hotel of the North British Railway Company.

Spent the morning in my 'office' (i.e. lying in bed) doing 'stuff'. Then I set off on a #5 and came across crowds and crowds outside The Festival Theatre, banners and police and a throng up West College Street, normally a quiet byway. Turns out I had stumbled upon the Edinburgh auditions of 'Britain's Got talent'. Further down the road there was a jam at the East End with another throng outside The Balmoral, more police and LB marshals, coping with the buses. I'm told they were waiting for Simon Cowell et al but as you know I don't blip celebrities so I didn't linger. Since then I've now read that new mum, Amanda Holden was also expected.

I set off on a painting quest. I want some art for my flat, for the living room and my bedroom. I visited 3 galleries but saw nothing that grabbed me so instead I bought some replacement vases at Debenhams (half price), waited for ages at the West End and took the #24 home.

Tonight it's venison sausages and mash and putting everything back in the newly shelved boiler cupboard. Is that a great Saturday night?

(Googled Edinburgh Printmakers, think they may be next on the list).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.