Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Tombstone Roses

They call Tombstone, Arizona "The Town Too Tough To Die." It was born of a silver boom, and is remembered for one of the Old West's most famous gunfights (Have you ever heard of the gunfight at the OK Corral?).

Tombstone, strictly by chance, is the location of "The World's Largest Rose." But this isn't it. The largest one is white.

It is, however, one variation of a Tombstone Rose (Rosa banksiae 'Lutea'). The yellow one is identical in all respects but color.

The flowers grow in bunches along arching branches great for trellisses, and flowing over walls or down embankments.You can see how difficult it is to determine whether this is one large flower or many roses bunched together. It is the latter.

These roses are my neighbor's, flowing along our shared wall. They don't have any scent, but her lilacs are in bloom now, too. So I really enjoy sitting outside right about now. If it would only warm up a bit.


It's going to be a busy day for me today. I have a medical appointment down in Tubac then I have to hustle back here for my club's monthly meeting. I was able to snag our former Attorney General, who ran for Governor, to speak about border issues. It's a huge event. I'm really hoping we have a big turnout. Then I have to figure how to fix my browers. I envision myself on hold on the phone for hours today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.