A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Bracing Brid.

We have had a day out to the seaside and the sun turned out too.

I'm not sure why but I wanted to go to Bridlington on the East Yorkshire coast. Last year we went to Bempton to see the nesting sea birds and I suggested a trip into Brid but no we went to Flamborough and then on to Scarborough. I love Scarborough and I know Chris prefers it but this time I wanted to go to Brid.

The trip there is so nice - through the arable country of the Yorkshire wolds so
different from our more rugged Pennine Yorkshire.

We got there at lunch time and ate sandwiches by the harbour. Within 10 minutes Chris said ' I know what - we could go to Scarborough later'.!!

Well I had my 3 hours in Brid. These lovely beach huts are on the south beach side of the harbour, and we walked along the north beach too. The Pirate ship was taking people out for 10 minute bay trips but most other things seemed to be getting ready for the season. Someone was balancing precariously on the side of the 'Yorkshire Belle' giving a coat of paint and lots of maintenance work seemed to be taking place on the fairground rides.

We had a brief stop in Filey and watched the sea which by now was in and pounding the 'Cobble Landing'. The Fish and Chip restaurant we planned to go to for tea was shut on Thursdays so --- you guessed it, we went to Scarborough!
Great 'all in' tea of haddock and chips, tea bread and butter at the Golden Griddle.
Brilliant way to end a good day and everybody happy!
Alternative blip:
Marooned!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.