Capital adventures

By marchmont

Poinsettia

I bought two poinsettias from Waitrose for Christmas 2010. Last October GCQ gave directions for coaxing the poinsettias to turn red again - total darkness for 12 hours a day and then direct daylight for the remaining 12 hours. Well I tried it, for a bit (difficult to remember to put 2 poinsettias in a dark cupboard every late afternoon and take them out the next morning). Needless to say no red bracts appeared but I kept the plants. I've got used to them. now with almost total neglect most of the leaves have dropped off but the bracts have turned red, with no help from me at all. Poinsettias for Easter?

I guess I should have been out on the meta blip yesterday and today but I just couldn't find the resources to be with loads of new people, too draining. So instead I stayed in 'the office' and finally got round to writing up M's family tree - work that's been outstanding since November. She had an ancestor who moved from Dumfries to Camelon to be a nailmaker. Fascinating reading about the nailmakers in Camelon and the living conditions.

Mum came round. To get out the house I think. Life is hard for many of us at present. I was going to go out to the garden but didn't. I was told it was cold anyway, no 18 degrees here as in Aberdeen. Typically I chose to be there last week-end when it was cold and wet.

I was up ladders again today, putting up a few things. nothing as taxing as yesterday though.

M didn't call as agreed - had been too busy today, was the message. That was around 6, a whole evening was ahead. Clearly no priority, or urgency there, then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.