Capital adventures

By marchmont

Endings

I woke up early and decided that there needed to be an end, that I didn't have the emotional energy to drag it out any longer and that I had to do it. So it was off on an early train to the Granite City. It was FREEZING and, arriving unannounced, I had to wait for 45 minutes outside the door until Dave returned from his Sunday morning visit to Asda and B&Q. Luckily he'd left on the TV and light so I knew he wasn't far, and he's predictable.

We discussed, agreed and signed the document and, for once, he was (slightly) honest about what he'd done at Christmas and was planning to do, soon. In parts it was an emotional afternoon, in other parts it was two people who know each other very well spending companionable time together, sharing a couch and hugs on a cold and windy Sunday afternoon.

We left to the strains of 'Dancing Queen' emitting from an event at the Duthie Park. I'm having that at MY funeral.

We hugged, kissed and said good-bye for the last time after 36 years, 2 months, 6 weeks and 3 days together - longer than her lifetime. He has already kicked off the new life ahead of him - who knows if it will bring him the happiness he seeks.

The train journey south was a quiet as the one north and - there was coffee!

Crossing the Forth Bridge it was squally and there were loads of whitecaps on the waves. The Forth looked SO cold.

I said 'good-bye' today and that is an end so I deleted contact details and updated some others.

I did this in cross stitch once (still in France, I think) - but it is totally true today - 'Today is the First Day of the Rest of Your Life'. I just have to keep remembering that.

(PS - and I made Spotlight for my 500th blip - that cheered me, thanks.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.