Buttercup

Best viewed * large*

The rabbits at the end of the field have become more confident this last week, probably because the grass has grown taller & they think I can't see them... but every so often the buck stands on his back legs to look around for any sign of danger, I was luckily downwind from him & he couldn't see me either, even though I was wearing my bright red shirt against the green - I'd never make the perfect wildlife photographer! I show up way too much! I know he's a buck rabbit, as he's a lot larger then the others & he's always chasing the others around... I love his hazel eyes, I don't think Hazel in Watership Down was given his name just for his wonderfully brown hazel branch coat - it was the colour of his eyes instead. This rabbit is not called 'Buttercup' even though he's standing to the side of one, I think I'll call him 'Butch' instead!

As for Little Larry:

On duty

My mum is a lot brighter today, the pain has been controlled in her neck & she's a lot more comfortable. I cannot praise the hospice staff enough, they are so attentive, so kind, so gentle & so peaceful - yet so positive as well. Plus they're so wonderful to Dad & I, they keep saying, go home, have a rest - this is a chance for both of you to rest too. They reckon she'll be there for at least a fortnight... she'll miss my Dad's Birthday, but hopefully she'll be home by 2nd June as that's her big BIG 70th Birthday... so finger's crossed. Even though it's all good, she's getting better, & even though I feel so happy that she's there, I also feel so sad, as up to 3 weeks ago she was so full of energy & behaving like my mummy again, the one I've known & loved... she was coming back to me again... I treasured every moment, but wish I had treasured it some more. xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.