Sign of the day - Whitley Baywash Carwash

Another busy day.  Neil went to work.  Becky, Mike and I set off to do some shopping in " The Sales".  We headed for The Team Valley Retail Park which isn't far from where I live.  Becky and I both got lots in George at Asda and then we moved on to the Gap Outlet shop.  The Sale items were re- reduced by 40% here so all 3 of us made quite a few purchases.  Then into Next.  Bought nothing but we did stop for a coffee in the Starbucks in there. 

The checkout lady in Asda had asked me what I was doing for the rest of the day and I mentioned that we were intending to go to the Wetherspoons in my village for a late lunch.  She indicated that it would probably be " packed out " and I think she was probably correct as its a popular place.  Anyway she recommended a new place on the Team Valley which was onlly 5 mins away called The Valley Drive.  So when we had finshed shopping we went there.  It was busy but its a huge place and there were lots of free tables.  Mike and I had fish and chips and Becky had cheeseburger and chips.  Big portions so we were well and truly full up.

Then we drove down to the coast - Whitley Bay.  Got there around 4pmish so it was beginning to get dark.  We had a wander on the BEACH.  It was windy and freezing cold.   I don't look too happy in THIS SHOT as I was wishing I was indoors. Lots of dog walkers on the beach braving the cold weather though. Then we went inland towards the shops where it was a bit warmer.  Too late for shopping but we had a wander checking out the " delights " of Whitley Bay.  On our way back to the car I spotted this car wash.  Good play on words.

We needed some " party food " so we headed for Morrisons in Blaydon.  Nothing suitable was left so we went to Asda.  Not much there either but we managed to get a few bits and pieces for our evening buffet.

We got back home around 7pm.  We all unpacked our shopping  and showed each other what we had bought.  Lots of lovely bargains.

Later on we played Scrabble - Mike won again.  Then we played a game called   Heads Up!.  You use an ipad and put it on your head.  Then a name or animal or film etc appears on the screen and the others have to give you clues so you can guess what's on your head.  It was fun.

Then we did a quiz.  I read out the questions and Becky and Mike made their guesses.  Mike won this as well but only by 2 points.

We were feeling hungry by now so the food was laid out and we tucked in.  I ate far too much.  We watched Big Ben at midnight on the TV and the firework display.  Becky and Mike went to bed about 2am - I stayed up later.  Kept nodding off though and I was too tired to blip so am doing this on 1st Jan.

Steps today - 14,735

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.