Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Doubting Zippy

REPLACED PHOTO and EDITED  REMARKS:

I have replaced the photo I posted here originally yesterday because it was brought to my attention that I had posted one which looked exactly like it just several days ago.  It was thought that perhaps I used the same photo, just cropped more closely.

That was not the case. I unequivocally did not post the same photo. As I had stated at the end of my original write up (below the line), this is one of his exact perches which he loves.  Hummingbirds are creatures of habit, much in the way we are, in fact.

They are predictable.  When I see him high in the ocotillo, I know that within minutes he will be soaring in for a drink at the feeder.  However, if he has gotten a drink at the feeder and had been sitting up there for a while, I can predict that his next move will be to fly away for a while.

Zippy has his favorite perches.  His favorite is that ocotillo, and that branch in particular.  There are no other trees near my yard.  I know he spends time in my bush (out of sight in my shots), and I have identified his favorite branch perch in that.  When he lands on the branch, or any of his perches, his feet and body are always facing  in the same direction.

One last example of him finding a perch where he lands like this which I have photographed for blips.  What is slightly different in a couple of these photographs is his head is showing some movement.  Check out and compare the following blips: 31 Dec , 1 Jan9 Jan and 12 Jan.

I have never, nor will ever, manipulate the dates on photographs and post one as a blip twice. There are limited views and backgrounds in and around my yard and therefore some may look familiar, but rest assured, I will not cheat.

Thank you.

Laurie


--------------------------------------------------------
Remaining from original post:
He loves this perch.
  I haven't seen him on the chair anymore lately.  This is the same spot as the other day.  From the ocotillo he can see a long way, in all directions, for any other hummers who might want a try at his feeder.  He engages in a lot of fights beginning from this point.



Thank you for all of the stars and hearts for the blips of the last two days.  I really, really appreciated them.  It means so much that you were there, even if you didn't comment.  I love you all xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.