The Final Chapter

THE STORY SO FAR.....

Egg  (23rd December 2014)
Just hatched
Nature's Plan
Big Boy
Business End
Chrysalis Mark 1
Chrysalis Mark 2
Chrysalis Mark 3

Yesterday had turned quite cold, and there was a sharp breeze blowing in the afternoon, and I am certain the conditions slowed down the metamorphosis of my Monarch.

Very first thing this morning I grabbed my camera and dashed into the back yard.

It wasn't much warmer, but when the sun did come out it became quite pleasant.

I swear to God the first ray of sun touched the chrysalis, and in front of my eyes, it started to open.  I yelled for the Rower to come and have a look, not daring to take my eyes off it. (The neighbours must have wondered what was going on - I can be quite loud when the occasion demands).

And slowly at first, and then quite quickly the butterfly emerged.  She looked like a crumpled Cinderella who had slept in her ball gown.

The wings started to stretch out at they filled with blood.  She (and it is a she, not a he as I thought) stretched and preened her proboscis - I was startled to see it's in two pieces - perhaps it fuses in time.

And she just hung there, must have been for an hour or more.  So I went inside after a time, popping back down to have a look every so often.

Finally she climbed to the top of the stem, stretching and opening and closing her wings as she went.

She took off, a mite too early perhaps, because, oh glory, she landed on my hand.

Scarcely daring to breath, I carried her to the butterfly bush, and gently transferred her to a flower.  Waste of time, she went back onto a leaf.  Eventually she took off on her maiden flight, still a bit squiffy, landing on the silver birch for a bit of a breather before flying off.

I've been kissed by a butterfly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.