TWO OF MY FAVOURITES

Kathryn and Lillieth are two of my favourite Jamaicans (the other two in the family are lovely too - perhaps I will blip them another day!)

We have known Kathryn since she was born - she has grown into such a lovely young lady and is a real credit to her parents - I can’t believe that she is almost 16 and about to leave school - where did those years go?  You may remember that I taught her to knit about 3 years ago and she is now furiously knitting a scarf for a friend and is doing very well.  When we were chatting before church started this morning, and I saw her mum, Lillieth sitting behind her, I thought that they would make a good blip for today.  So here they are, mother and daughter - both looking beautiful.

When I see a mother/daughter relationship like theirs, it makes me sad to think that I never had that with my mother, but thankfully I had a lovely relationship with Mr. HCB's mother.  However, I do have a good relationship with our two sons, which is proof that we don’t need to replicate what we had or didn’t have in our own childhood.  I like to think that I was and am a good mother in spite of what happened in my childhood and it always pleases me when I see my grandchildren and the relationship they have with their parents.  

So thank you, Kathryn and Lillieth, for the shining example you set to those around you - Mr. HCB and I are privileged to be counted as friends of your family.

“Your children are the greatest gift 
God will give to you, 
and their souls the heaviest responsibility 
He will place in your hands. 
Take time with them, 
teach them to have faith in God. 
Be a person in whom they can have faith. 
When you are old, 
nothing else you've done 
will have mattered as much.” 

Lisa Wingate

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.