The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Gloucester street: white van morning

It's been on my mind to blip this florists' display for quite some time. It won't last long, once Valentine's day is over. This morning was my best chance, for I had to leave home early to take a floral shopping trolley (no longer required by me) in to work for my boss. She now uses it for wheeling childrens' files around the school, to the amusement of everyone else.

Of course, I'd forgotten about the reflection problem with the Gloucester street shopfronts. I'm not sure what I could do. apart from checking the reflections for white vans. If I'd gone inside the shop, then I wouldn't have seen the lovely bicycle above the window. And I probably would have had to buy a dozen red roses.

Meanwhile, back at the chalk face, (or is it the coal face?) I made up for not climbing later by rough-and-tumbling in the ball pool with several small boys. It's not that I wanted to, but they needed a bit of help in order to stop fussing and fighting with each other. I've gained another key child, meaning that I now have seven. I am becoming more like my mother by the moment. She had seven children (four girls and three boys) and taught at a Montessori school in Dublin. I trained in playwork, but now work in a nursery, where I'm in charge of three girls and four boys. The difference is that I don't have to take them all home....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.