IN TRAINING FOR THE RACE

Today is the first day of Lent - so what's it all about?  Is it about giving things up or is it about getting closer to God?   Is it about me doing my thing or is it about letting God do “His" thing through me? 

So many questions about Lent. 

However, for me, Lent isn't about giving things up at least not about giving up chocolate or biscuits - although I know people do - and perhaps I should - but for me it's about doing something that will bring me closer to God, help me refocus on Him, and yes, maybe to change me as a person throughout these 40 days. 

I have decided I am not going to spend so much time on the computer (so may not comment that much, but I will try and give stars so that you know I have looked at your Blip) but instead I'm going to try and do at least 40 acts of generosity throughout this time.  

It may be writing a card to someone, perhaps a friend, to tell them how much I appreciate their friendship. On the other hand, it might be paying for someone's coffee in the queue behind me in the coffee shop, and you know I do go into quite a lot of coffee shops!  I will probably buy the occasional bunch of daffodils and give them to someone I don't know.  It might be about just passing the time of day with someone in the queue behind me in the supermarket or speaking to the person selling The Big Issue - or it might be just about "being quiet" and listening for that "still, small voice". 

At the moment, for me, it won't be about running but I saw this man early this morning, running on the beach - he was quite a long way away from me but as I zoomed in, it reminded me that I am running a race - the race of life, as we all are - but we are not alone - we have friends who are there to help us, even if we feel we can't run that fast and as a Christian, I believe that I have a God who is interested in every detail of my life and who wants me to get closer to Him.

So - I may not be able to run a 4 minute mile yet - but I am in training and, who knows what I will be able to do after 40 days!

All these many people who have had faith in God 
are around us like a cloud. 
Let us put every thing out of our lives 
that keeps us from doing what we should. 
Let us keep running in the race 
that God has planned for us. 
Let us keep looking to Jesus. 
Our faith comes from Him and 
He is the One Who makes it perfect.
Hebrews 12 : 1-2
New Life Version

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.