The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Lapwing In Flight

Phew what a scorcher!

We got up early and met Barman down at Goldcliff Lagoons. I took the scope out for a rare outing. I also had my glamorous assistant with me in the shape of my wife.

It made a lovely change to be walking around in the sunshine and sitting in a hide that didn't require several layers on to keep warm ... short sleeves were most certainly the order of the day!

From the first hide we watched the resident Avocets feeding on the lagoon. There is a good number there at the moment, and they are an awesome bird t watch. There were a good number of Lapwings flying around with their crazy flight paths. They are not the easiest to photograph as they change direction so blooming fast. I have been trying for a while now, both at Freiston and Frampton, and failed. This is one of only two shots I have managed!

We walked over the the Cider Farm Hide, which I have never been in as it is normally the other side of a moat. It was brilliant over there. Plenty more Lapwings, there was a family of Swans, and a wonderful Meadow Pipit kept popping up onto the fence post.

We spent the afternoon over at the Uskmouth end of the reserve. We managed to see the Cuckoo, but it was too far off for any kind of photos, I had to make do with this Reed Warber that was feeding obligingly the other side of one of the screens.

Another cracking day with brilliant company. The warm weather is set to continue, which makes photography so much easier!

Other photos from the day:

Reed Warbler

Redshank

Meadow Pipit

Lapwing

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.