Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Vivaldi

Had the pleasure of going for the opening of this very smart restaurant tonight and enjoying cocktails and canapés, all courtesy of an invitation that G received. She was allowed to take a guest, so she took me! :)

We had previously enjoyed Afternoon Tea here at their soft opening in August. Thoroughly enjoyed the evening not least for the incredible view. This is the second oldest hotel in Dubai so is built into its history. A recent massive renovation making the hotel look brand new on the inside may belie all the stories it holds in its walls. I still remember popping my head into its atrium on New Year's Eve in the early 80s; with the party in full swing. I'd never seen anything so grand in my little life! And to add to the historical connection; I lived in the same set of apartment blocks that the staff had their [company-provided] accommodation. They were round the back on a quiet road, we were on the front on the main road. There you go. True story!

Thinking... we *may* just choose that for the venue for my birthday dinner next Monday...  :D

PS. Excuse the slight camera shake! As usual, I didn't have a stand with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.